An Introduction

I think the best way to introduce myself and this blog is by my personal mission statement. I’ve heard from many people that mission statements act as a great guide to clarify your actions and aspirations. I see this as a roadmap for myself, with personal instructions to anything that I face now or will face in the future. This is by no means a “finished product;” I’m sure I will re-write and finagle this to a more polished version, but for now, I think it is an appropriate introduction:

Don’t be afraid to shine.
Strive to be great in all that you do. That doesn’t mean being perfect or being the best, it means being your best. Forge your own path, and follow your dreams. They may change, but so will you. Smile at everyone you meet – they may need it. Life is short. Love and value the people in yours, and let them know it. Use your gifts and talents to serve others and help them know their potential. Savor the fact that struggles make you stronger. Become who you were meant to be.
Be Great. Be Humble. Be Radiant.

A Pretty Mélange is not meant to be just another beauty blog – I really want to focus on makeup for the everyday woman. While it’s fun to get dolled up for a night out on the town, I think it’s most important to look and feel confident accenting the beautiful features you already have! So let’s focus on bringing out your natural beauty, not hiding behind a mask of makeup. I’d also like to look at a “mélange” (French for mixture) of pretty things here, to admire and inspire!

Leave a Reply

