Review: Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge for Lips and Cheeks

I’ve been looking for a nice cream blush lately, for a little bit more long-lasting color, as a lot of times powder blushes will fade as the day goes on. While scanning the different makeup counters, I came upon Bobbi Brown’s Pot Rouge for Lips and Cheeks. I have to say, while I don’t own a ton of Bobbi Brown products, this little makeup excursion was a reminder that I should! (Sorry, wallet…) Bobbi Brown’s makeup line focuses on what made Bobbi Brown so well-known as a makeup artist: a natural, no-makeup look. I love her mantra of: “Beauty isn’t about looking perfect. It’s about celebrating your individuality” and  her belief that “makeup is a way for a woman to look and feel like herself, only prettier and more confident.” Don’t you love her already?!

Image

But let’s back up  to this pot rouge. First of all, this product can double as both a blush and a lip balm. But this isn’t one of those products that skimp on both sides of what they’re supposed to accomplish (like two-in-one shampoo and conditioner. It just doesn’t cut it!). The pot rouge works well both on cheeks and on lips. AND you can use your fingers to apply! I personally prefer to use a foundation brush for the blush, by using one side to apply the cream and the other side to buffer and blend, but you can use your fingers just as well if you feel like you have more control that way. The cream blush isn’t so intense that it gives a clown like effect; rather it gives a gentle just-pinched look. Also, with the lip balm, you can use your fingers or a lip brush to apply. A touch on the lips creates a soft, stained finish. Top it off with a swipe of lip gloss, and you have a delightfully natural glow!

Coral is one of my favorite shades for my skin tone, so I selected Calypso Coral to take home with me. I love the look and the feel of this cream blush, it became an instant favorite! Here is my awkward attempt at self-photography to capture this look. Thank you Bobbi!

P1020406P1020409

2 thoughts on “Review: Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge for Lips and Cheeks

  1. I have a real affinity for coral blushes too. This looks lovely and the fact that it’s a cream blush makes it all the more enticing. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Will keep an eye out for this one.

Leave a Reply

